Cheating? Juices? Paleo? The latest trend…

ok, time to get several things out in the open (aka too much time to think today):

  1. Cheating?  Maybe as we shift toward this thinking of 80%/20%, maybe we stop using the word cheat…maybe we focus on all that we are doing right, how many veggies and how much REAL FOOD we ate today, and celebrate how we read our labels (and vowed to not buy that dressing anymore or some other random thing found in our fridge and thought, “I cannot believe they needed to add high fructose corn syrup crap to that!”).  Let’s concentrate on all we are doing right, because really we are in a lifestyle change, a change in our way of thinking, a change in our relationship with food.  It’s really not about following a set of rules for a month…am I right?  A healthier me. Healthier than a month ago.  Yay, us.
  2. Paleo? While there are lots of benefits to eating this way; unless it’s something I plan to sustain, then what am I doing?  Am I really never going to eat a piece of warm bread again? Why did I think it was a good idea to cut out entire food groups? (oh yeah, to lose weight and see if my digestive system didn’t like a food group – there were reasons…)And was I going to do that forever? The older I get, the less I want to mess with my metabolism.  Let’s keep it moving forward, revved up.  Eating real food, yes.  Eating processed crap from packages, nah, not so much.
  3. Lastly, juice cleanses? See above paragraph.  Are you really going to keep that up? Isn’t that confusing to your body?  Eat.  No wait, drink only for 3 days.  Then eat again.  Wait, that juice just lost half to all of it’s vitamins and nutrients because it sat out on the counter for over 15 minutes…I have a juicer. and a vitamix.  I am not against that – very FOR juices and smoothies.  However, for 3 straight days or more?  Talk about yo-yo metabolism, right?!

I think the answer lies in no extremes.  Moderation in all things.  Just my opinions…what are yours?  I would love to hear from you!

juice pic

Leave a Reply

