Sugar…are you over it too?

Been doing a lot of research lately on sugar…it started a couple years ago…then lately again when my daughter’s teacher asked us to send in doughnuts and juice in for the class breakfast…so I can’t stop thinking about it.  Google sugar and the effects.  Google no sugar.  There’s so much info out there, yet I can’t stop.  Sugar is everywhere and even though I want to say no, I don’t.  I need a reason (well, I have many, but that hasn’t stopped me) to cut it out.  And maybe you do too.  I need accountability.  Maybe you do too?

So I’m thinking of going mostly sugar-free and alcohol-free for the month of January.  Sounds good now.  Probably won’t sound so good about three days in…

Anyway, how about hitting the re-set button in January?  Would you be in?  You have some time to think on this.  But here’s what I’m thinking:  When you go all or nothing, it’s a bit extreme, and it’s easy to get discouraged (I know because I’ve tried this numerous times); but what about going back to the good ole 80/20 rule?  As in, I do what I should do 80% of the time, and the other 20%, don’t worry so much.

How about a month long re-set? Workout 2-3 times a week with no sugar and no alcohol at least 80% of the month?  Here’s what that could look like:

  • Workout Tuesday and Thursday at 5:30am for 30 minutes
  • Saturdays at 9:00am optional.  
  • You commit to no sugar, no alcohol, with one free night/meal each week?  Could you do that?  
  • We would start the eating part on January the 4th, workouts start Tuesday, January 5th and go throughout the last week of January.  

Would love to hear your thoughts via comment to this post, email, or text.
  

5 thoughts on “Sugar…are you over it too?

  1. I will def be joining this reset with you. I’m happy to follow a long but can’t make 5:30 am work outs. Looking forward to a mostly sugar free and healthy January 2016 😊

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Hi Kristi, I would like to give this a try. I want to get back on the wagon, but know that it is really difficult in going cold turkey without sugar. I hope you do have a Merry Christmas.

    Vicki Niedermeier

Leave a Reply

