Day 4: Why am I doing this again???

Yesterday, Kathryn said something that resounded with me.  She said, “So a woman at work asked me why I was eating like this for 10 days, and the answer I thought of was, ‘Because I want to.’ ”  So Kathryn, you are not alone.  Here is the why of why we eat like this and workout so hard:

Eating paleo is like hitting the “reset” button on our diets.  I don’t like to think of it as a diet that I’m on, but rather a nutrition plan that I am headed toward.  I’d eventually like to end up eating like this most of the time.  (I say most because I am a rule-hater by nature, and I also believe that you only live once and you should enjoy it – but that’s another blog).  

Each time I do this 10 day thing, I eat better on a permanent basis afterward.  Then I do it again, and I find something else new that I like or a way to cook something, and add that to the overall plan.  So this is called progress.  Habits are formed over time, not in one day, or even 10 days.  So hit the reset button.  Get rid of all the crap we sometimes, usually, often eat.  Instead, fuel your body with nothing but fruits, vegetables, proteins, nuts, and seeds.  What have you got to lose?  You will find that others don’t want to hear about it, or think you are crazy, or feel judged, or judge you…who cares?!  Do it because it works, and you will make progress.  Because you want to.

No one ever made progress just thinking about it.  

If it was easy, everyone would do it.

If you want more reasons though, here they are:

Switching from our evolutionary diet of animal products, veggies and fruit to a diet full of grains and legumes is like that movie Super Size Me where Morgan Spurlock goes from eating his normal diet to eating only McDonald’s food for 30 days. His health plummets – he gets fat and depressed, and he develops fatty liver and sexual dysfunction.

That’s basically what’s happened on a grand scale over the last 10,000 years of humanity. We’ve replaced wholesome, clean plant matter and animal foods with a high carbohydrate, low nutrient, high toxic chemical diet and we’ve gotten sick. We’ve shrunken in size, our bones are osteoporotic, we have more cancer, obesity and diabetes, an alarming incidence of heart disease, inflammation of all kinds, skin problems and the list goes on.  And on. We are sick. But our Paleolithic ancestors were not and the hunter gatherer tribes that still exist are not.  

source: http://www.paleoplan.com/resources/food-basics/

 

One thought on “Day 4: Why am I doing this again???

  1. Im so sick of people saying “oh that stupid diet you’re on!” When I turn down their sugary snack at lunch or food on conference night! The Judgy McJudgersons can kiss my strong legs and tone rear end!!!

Leave a Reply

