Click for Calcium and Vitamin D rich foods

Click for Calcium and Vitamin D rich foods

So lately it feels as though most women I know are told by their doctors that they are vitamin D and/or calcium deficient.  I was told that in the last year.  I thought I ate healthy so that was taken care of.  I hate taking those big horse-pills and told the doctor so. She suggested that I take those chocolate chew vitamins for D and Calcium.  Guess what? Yep, mine have corn syrup, sucrose, nonfat dry milk (trying to not do dairy), and corn syrup solids – whatever that is.  oh yeah, and soybeans.  scary.  And that was the better of my choices in the pharmacy area.  

So as I mentioned if you are trying to avoid dairy products like I have been, what do you do to combat this deficiency? 

I thought I’d look into what foods I can eat (that aren’t dairy) that are rich in these areas. Click on the link for a list.  I love a lot of the ideas, and I will be more aware to eat the yellow of my egg too…and I may just decide that swallowing the horse-pills are worth it. yuck.  Let me know if you have any sneaky tricks to get those vitamins in.

 

4 thoughts on “Click for Calcium and Vitamin D rich foods

  1. I didn’t look at the whole list but my almond milk always advertises more calcium than milk. Just a thought.
    I don’t need more calcium I need a shot in my left trap that will allow functioning once again.

  2. I take a Vit D supplement. Same thing, after having 3 kids in the past 5 years and nursing each of them at least 10 months, I was severely deficient in Vit D. The supplement I take is 5000 IU and is a small clear pill. I prefer to get my vit D from the sun and nutrition, but supplement with the pill. I don’t promote a brand, but do like the size of the pill. It is Simply Right Wellness and Nutrition vitamin D-3. I think I bought it at Costco.

  3. I just read the label on my multivitamin, and it only provides 30% of my daily calcium. I had no idea. I guess I will also be looking for ways to increase my calcium intake. I also love the unsweetened vanilla almond milk.

Leave a Reply

