Stop giving our bodies sugar all the time???

I don’t know if I can do it. I have a sneaking suspicion (ok, more than a suspicion) that I am a total sugar addict.  I bought double-stuff Oreos today (something I rarely ever buy, I promise) because all of a sudden in Target, I was overcome with fright that I may not eat sugar for 10 whole days…how embarrassing, but there it is.  So, let’s switch gears this week to fats instead of sugars.  What?  Did you read that correctly? Yes, you did.  I want you to eat fat this week and next as in the form of healthy, mono-saturated fats like:  

  • avocado
  • avocado oil
  • hazelnuts
  • macadamia nuts
  • olive oil
  • olives

When trying to come up with healthy fats, think that mono-saturated fats are found in a variety of plant foods and oils, as well as animal products.  So ditch the sugar, fuel with fat!  (a dense and abundant source of energy).

Source: It Starts With Food

4 thoughts on “Stop giving our bodies sugar all the time???

  1. No judgement here on you buying the double-stuff Oreos. I ate a pan of brownies the other night just because. What is everyone doing about caffeine? It sounds like we can only drink tea?

    • you can drink coffee – just without creamer that is dairy or sweet. I didn’t think there was such a thing and today at Earthfare I found Coconut Hazlenut milk. yay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! But yes, black coffee is fine, as is tea.

  2. 130g almonds
    130g dates (weighed after the stone was removed)
    20g cocoa powder (add more or less to your own taste)
    1tsp vanilla extract (not essence, urgh!)
    Water

    Finely chop the dates and nuts in a food processor. My processor is tiny, so I had to do this in batches. As all clean eaters will know.. you spend a lot of time chopping! I really must invest in a full size food processor.

    Add the cocoa powder and vanilla extract, and pulse again in the processor.
    Your mixture should now look like this and should almost hold it’s shape when you mould it together, now add water sparingly until you can form the mixture into balls.

    Divide the mixture into balls and arrange on a tray. Place in the fridge for a couple of hours….and your Falsetesers are ready

Leave a Reply

